NOVA Marketing Achievement Awards - AMA Iowa | Iowa Chapter of the American Marketing Association

NOVA Marketing Achievement Awards

Award Categories   Entry Fees    How to Enter    Requirements   Judging Criteria    Finalist Notification

Art and science have their meeting point in method. Do you know a marketer who has tested their theories, created beauty, developed their methods, and achieved measurable results with their marketing masterpieces? The marketers and agencies recognized in these categories inspire, lead, and transform the community through their excellence.

Nominations can be submitted on our new awards application site!

NOVA Marketing Achievement Award Categories

Marketing Executive of the Year

Do you want to recognize a mentor, or showcase the work of an amazing manager? The Marketing Executive of the Year should be someone who inspires, leads and achieves excellence in the field of marketing and has helped to build and transform their marketing community.

Nominees should be in a director level position or above.

Marketer of the Year

Which of your marketing cohorts made their mark on the marketing scene last year? Whether they pulled off an outlandish pitch to leadership, went above and beyond on volunteering in the marketing field or traveled last-minute across the state for a client, we want to hear about it! Marketer of the Year recognizes those who do the most every single day to meet goals and make waves in the industry.

Nominees should be non-executive level marketers.

Agency of the Year

What makes your agency the apple of your eye? Is it the kick-butt culture? The super talented staff? The award-winning work? Psh, all of the above! Nominate your agency for Agency of the Year and celebrate what makes your team the top. Open to all marketing, advertising, digital and PR agencies in Iowa. Freelancers, too!

Marketing Department of the Year

Do you work in the best corporate marketing department in the state? From crafty campaigns to killer customer communications, how did your team leverage your brand this year? Tell us all about it! Open to all in-house marketing departments in Iowa.

Entry Fees

There is no entry fee for the Marketing Achievement Awards.

How to Enter

The submission period is open through March 13, 2022. Good luck to all entrants!


Marketing Executive of the Year/Marketer of the Year

Nominees must live in Iowa or be employed by a company located in Iowa. It is not required to be an AMA Iowa member to be nominated.

Include the following with your nomination:

  • Letter of support (maximum 650 words) describing how the nominee has gone above and beyond in his or her career, stood out in the marketing field and why this person should be chosen over other qualified candidates. If applicable, include any past awards, recognitions and milestones.
    • Marketing Executive of the Year only: Highlight contributions the nominee has made to his or her company, how the nominee has achieved career success in marketing and include any contributions he or she has made to increase the stature of the profession.
  • (3) work samples that showcase the talent and impact of the nominee’s work
  • Resume
  • (2) reference letters
  • Company logo

Agency of the Year/Marketing Department of the Year

Companies must be located in Iowa. It is not required to have AMA Iowa members employed at your company to be nominated.

Include the following with your nomination:

  • Letter of support (maximum 650 words) describing how the agency or marketing department has achieved amazing marketing results, worked together as a team and met client/internal goals. If applicable, include any past awards, recognitions and milestones.
  • (3) work samples that showcase the agency’s or marketing department’s best work
  • Company logo

Any entry that fails to follow these guidelines and the digital requirements is subject to disqualification.

Questions? Email

NOVA Award Judging Criteria

The 2022 NOVA Awards committee sets all judging criteria and verifies the winners selected by the award judges. A panel of marketing professionals from an AMA chapter outside of Iowa will serve as the judges. Exception is the Volunteer of the Year award which will be judged by members of the AMA Iowa Board of Directors. The judges make all decisions regarding eligibility, finalists and winners.

Entries become the property of AMA Iowa and will not be returned. No entry fee will be refunded due to an entry’s disqualification nor after the entries are judged.

Finalist Notification

One award winner will be chosen in each of the categories, at the discretion of the award judges. If no entries meet the set minimum requirements in a category, no award will be made. The decisions of the judges are final.

All individuals and companies nominated will be notified prior to the NOVA Awards event as well as the winning individuals and companies. Winner of each category will be announced and recognized during the event!

Questions? Email

© 2022 Iowa Chapter of the American Marketing Association. All Rights Reserved.