NOVA Awards - AMA Iowa | Iowa Chapter of the American Marketing Association

NOVA Awards

14th Annual AMA Iowa NOVA Awards

Each year, the marketing competition among brands from all areas of Iowa’s business and industry continues to grow. This year the competition will come to life in downtown Des Moines, Iowa, at the 14th annual AMA Iowa NOVA Awards on Thursday, May 9th. The event will be hosted at The River Center in the heart of Des Moines. 

2019 NOVA Entries 

The submission period has ended.

Each entry must be represented in its original format and must have been produced, implemented or run during the 2018 calendar year by a firm or individual located in Iowa. If the entry was directed by a company, or a branch office of a company, and produced by another entity (agency, production firm, etc.), at least one of those must be located in Iowa.

Entries become the property of AMA Iowa and will not be returned. No entry fee will be refunded due to an entry’s disqualification, or after the entries are judged.

Judging Criteria

A panel of marketing professionals from the San Antonio AMA Chapter will serve as the 2019 AMA NOVA Night judges. The judges make all decisions regarding eligibility, finalists, and winners.

Judges score Objectives, Strategy, Tactics, and Results on a 1 to 10 scale with results being weighted the most in the judging process. The entry with the highest number of points is the winner in that category. The judging committee may move an entry to a different category and/or divide or merge categories, as it deems appropriate.

Finalist Notification

Up to three award winners will be chosen in each of the 12 categories, at the discretion of the award judges. If no entries meet the set minimum requirements in a category, no award will be made.

Finalists will be notified prior to the NOVA Night Awards event. All winners from each category will be announced during the event.

NEW for 2019! Marketing Achievement Awards

The submission period has ended.

New this year, as a part of NOVA Night, AMA Iowa will be recognizing two individuals for their achievements within the marketing industry in Iowa. If your coworker, manager, or mentor is making an impact in the marketing community, consider nominating them for either Marketing Executive of the Year or Marketer of the Year. 

The winner of each category will be announced during the event!

Marketing Achievement Award Categories

Marketing Executive of the Year
Do you want to recognize a mentor, or showcase the work of an amazing manager? The Marketing Executive of the Year should be someone who inspires, leads, and achieves excellence in the field of marketing and has helped to build and transform their marketing community. 

To be eligible for the Marketing Executive of the Year award, nominees should be Director level or above.  

Marketer of the Year
This award recognizes up-and-coming marketers who show potential to shine as they rise in their careers. 

This award is intended for non-executive level marketers. 


Email If you need AMA Iowa’s W-9 form, please contact

© 2020 Iowa Chapter of the American Marketing Association. All Rights Reserved.